Cricket World Cup 2015
ICC World Cup is undoubtedly the most prestigious event of cricket world, pulling in an enormous viewership from all over the globe. The upcoming year will stage the 11th edition of the ICC World Cup commencing from February 14 and would last till March 29, 2015. Australia & New Zealand have jointly won the bid to host 2015 World Cup. India is the defending champion this time, beating Sri Lanka in a dramatic fight in the last 2011 World Cup.

There will be 49 matches all together of which 26 games would be hosted by Australia and the rest 23 would be held at New Zealand. Australia has selected 14 venues for the tournament located at Sydney, Perth, Melbourne, Hobart, Canberra, Brisbane and Adelaide. On the other hand, New Zealand has picked 7 cities, namely, Wellington, Nelson, Napier, Hamilton, Dunedin, Christchurch & Auckland.

The World Cup Cricket 2015 would involve 14 competing nations, akin to the previous 2011 Worlds season and over 400 accredited cricketers & officials would take part in the mega event. These 14 teams have been divided into 2 pools with 7 teams in each. Pool A comprises of England, Australia, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, New Zealand, Afghanistan and Scotland. Pool B comprises of West Indies, South Africa, India, Pakistan, Ireland, Scotland and UAE.

According to ICC World Cup 2015 format, the 7 teams (in each Pool) would play one another once in the Group stage. The format guarantees that each of the teams would get to play at least 6 games even if the teams could not qualify beyond group. The Group stage would start on February 14 with the first World Cup 2015 match between New Zealand & Sri Lanka that would be held at Hagley Oval, Christchurch. The Quarterfinal would start on March 18 & would continue till March 21. The semi-final would start on March 24 and would conclude on March 26. The final World Cup 2015 match would be hosted at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne, on March 29, 2015.
This site is not affiliated or associated with ICC in any manner.
Join Facebook